Map of my suggestions for short walks

Places for short walks 

 

Most of 'The Nature Walks' on this website are based on public footpaths or open publicly accessible land with many options for walking routes. Often they will be too far for small children or people with reduced capabilities.

The idea of this page is to give you some ideas of places to visit offering short walks in places where nature can be found. It is unlikely many of the places offer walks in excess of a couple of miles but there will be some exceptions. I have deliberately excluded town parks without particular nature interest. 

First among these places are SANGS (Suitable Alternative Natural Greenspace). See the separate section about them on this page.

A few additional choices of my own are here (note: some may charge for car parks):

California Country Park and Longmoor Bog - Wokingham BC - https://www.dinton-pastures.co.uk/ 

Dinton Pastures Country Park - Wokingham BC - https://www.dinton-pastures.co.uk/ 

Heath Lake, Crowthorne - Wokingham BC - https://www.wokingham.gov.uk/countryside-parks-and-conservation/country-parks/heathlake/ 

Alice Holt Forest  - Forestry England -  https://www.forestryengland.uk/alice-holt-forest

Black Hill - Believed MoD. See https://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/3362137 there is a free car park off The Maultway and some pleasant short walks here. For more info and a possible walk see this page. OS Map ref SU 90024 61727.  Nearest postcode GU15 1PS 

Turf Hill Park, Guildford Road, Lightwater - Open Access Land. Free car park nearest postcode is at GU18 5SW - no website - nice small heathland.

Hook Common & Bartley Heath - Hants and Isle of Wight Wildlife Trust - https://www.hiwwt.org.uk/nature-reserves/hook-common-and-bartley-heath 

Odiham Common - Hart DC - https://www.hart.gov.uk/odiham-common-sssi 

Runfold Wood - Surrey Wildlife Trust - https://www.surreywildlifetrust.org/nature-reserves/runfold-wood 

Crooksbury Hill - Surrey Wildlife Trust - https://www.surreywildlifetrust.org/nature-reserves/crooksbury-hill 

Farnham Heath - RSPB - https://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves-and-events/reserves-a-z/farnham-heath/ 

Bourne Wood - Lower Bourne, Tilford Road, Farnham GU10 3RW - Forestry England- free car park - https://www.forestryengland.uk/bourne-wood-farnham